I knew when

I knew when, I looked forward to going to school.

Because of my 4th grade teacher, Miss Williams.

And when I wanted to play couples, with Saretta, instead of her brothers.

And I’m sure I took up crocheting and knitting (when I was 10) ’cause I had a crush on, Miss Brown.

For the most part, I felt normal, being me.

What I image, being straight feels like.

As I share my life with people, it makes me think of what a friend said once.

That I gave too much information.

That wasn’t always the case.

As a child, I was never, too vocal.

Bottled everything up.

Until it came out, in anger or violence.

After a few drinks.

I didn’t express my feelings (maturely) until I went to Second Genesis.

A drug treatment program.

I found how important it was.

How much it helped.

I don’t mind sharing about me.

I’m totally comfortable with who I am.

And the person,

I’m becoming.

Yvette

Author: My Life with mental illness

I have dealt with depression, most of my life and I've tried different antidepressant. With the right diagnosis and med mix, I have lost 40 pounds. And I am managing, my mental illnesses.

Leave a comment